[FATFREE Home] [Recipe Archive] [About the Mailing List and how to join]
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Egg Substitute (from gelatin)

Never mind, I found out myself.  Many kosher gelatins are made from animal
sources and processed in a specific may, but Emes gelatin is made from carageen
which is a seaweed. It is vegan.  However, I don't know what the difference is
between agar and Emes gelatin since they both are derived from sea weed.


Charity Kirk wrote:

> Aren't some kosher gelatins just made from a derivative of seaweed?
> Charity
> Lee-Gwen wrote:
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: TK
> >
> > > I think the problem here is that unless you have an allergy to eggs,
> > you're
> > > probably not eating them for moral/ethical reasons/beliefs. Since gelatin
> > is
> > > derived from animal bones and skin, most vegetarians won't eat it.
> >
> > Yes, sorry about this - I kinda forgot the issues involved because I happily
> > use gelatine.  I suppose that I was so pleased with myself for finding this
> > (I was only thinking of this as a solution to the fat issue) that I forgot
> > that it might offend (hey, that's the excuse my Lady used for putting
> > forward the suggestion that we could live in 2 different places with her
> > coming home (i.e. to the country where I would be from the city where she
> > would be) on weekends...  I guess I better go and forgive her *grin*).
> >
> > > I wonder if agar would work? Can you get agar in powerdered form?
> >
> > I guess it might do, actually - I have never used it, but surely if it can
> > be used like gelatine it would be fine.
> >
> > Again, I proffer my apologies,
> >
> > Lee-Gwen