Oops and sorry that I posted the message below. I've received messages
eagle-eyed fellow list members that the natural flavors listed in the
ingredients generally refers to BUTTER - voila! the buttery flavor. So
please don't try this at home if you're vegan!
I had written:
>I just checked a container of HyVee Butter Flavored Sprinkles in the fridge
>that I bought at a grocery store in Iowa. This is a store brand, not Butter
>Buds brand. The ingredients are: Maltodextrin (a natural carbohydrate
>derived from corn), salt, natural flavors, extractives of tumeric and
>annatto (as color), less than 2% Silicon dioxide (as anticaking). Maybe
>those of you looking for a vegan butter flavored sprinkle might want to
>check the store brands at some of your local grocers. (This is a favorite
>past time of mine, especially when I'm traveling, and I do happen upon some
>good finds this way.) Hope this helps - good luck in your searches!
Natalie in Milwaukee