[FATFREE Home] [Recipe Archive] [About the Mailing List and how to join]
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

maple syrup

Someone inquired why maple syrup may be of concern to vegans.  According to
Vegetarian Resource Group's March/April '97 issue, sometimes lard,milk, cream
or butter was used as a defoaming agent during the process (the amount used
is extremely small.)  The article continues to say that now vegetable oil is
a common defoaming agent.  Another agent used is made of mono-  and
diglycerides whose origins can be animal  and/or plant.  There is more said
-- too much to continue here.  You can probably get a reprint of the article
 (Sugar and Other Sweeteners:  Do They Contain Animal Products?"  E-mail