In a message dated 5/4/02 11:15:12 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
Can anyone tell me anything about tofu cheese?
Well, I'm sure someone else will provide more details but the two facts that
were always most important to me are that tofu cheese is not necessarily fat
free or even dairy free. As a matter of fact, most tofu cheeses I've seen
have casein or whey (a dairy component) in them - I'm told its necessary to
give the cheese that "meltability" that we expect in cheese. You can
sometimes find a dairy free tofu cheese, but I've only seen it in specialty
stores. I'm not sure if fat free is available, but it probably is,
somewhere. You need to read labels very carefully.