[FATFREE Home] [Recipe Archive] [About the Mailing List and how to join]
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]


For RBROWN9213:
This is from the Vegetarian Resource Group Web site (http://www.vrg.org).

"Many vegetarians don't consider that some of the cheeses they are eating could actually contain unfamiliar animal ingredients. That's right cheese, a common staple in many vegetarian diets, is often made with rennet or rennin, which is used to coagulate the dairy product. 

According to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, rennin, which is an enzyme used in coagulating cheese, is obtained from milk-fed calves. "After butchering, the fourth stomach...is removed and freed of its food content." After this the stomach goes through several steps including being dry-salted, washed, scraped to remove surface fat, stretched onto racks where moisture is removed, then finally ground and mixed with a salt solution until the rennin is extracted."

Check out this link for some cheese alternatives: http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/cheese.htm

So, even if you're a lacto-vegetarian, you must pay attention to the source of the cheese you eat.


iVillage.com: Solutions for Your Life 
Check out the most exciting women's community on the Web