[FATFREE Home] [Recipe Archive] [About the Mailing List and how to join]
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Butter Buds/Molly McButter vegan?


It turns out that Molly McButter isn't vegan. I had been told it 
was and didn't check the ingredients.  (I don't have Butter Buds 
handy, but they seem to be closely related). 

The list of ingredients for Molly McButter is: Maltodextrin (a 
natural carbohydrate derived from corn), salt, natural butter 
flavor and other 100% natural flavors, butter*, cornstarch, 
buttermilk solids, tricalcium phosphate, partially hydrogenated 
soybean oil, annatto (color).   *Adds a negligible amount of fat

Back to the drawing board. I'll be experimenting with other 
flavors to see  if I can come up with a truly vegan substitute. 
Apologies are in order. This is as big a disappointment to me as 
it must be to other vegans. 

Neal Pinckney <> Healing Heart Foundation <> Makaha, Hawaii 
Website: http://www.angelfire.com/hi2/healingheart/  
Discussion group:  http://www.vegsource.org/healingheart/