[FATFREE Home] [Recipe Archive] [About the Mailing List and how to join]
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: casien free cheese

OK, I guess I need to go into a little more detail here.  Casein is not
the same as rennet.  Rennet is the thing in cheese that makes it
non-vegetarian (a byproduct of the meat industry, but I don't think I want
to go into more detail here unless you really need it).  Casein is a milk
protein that is used in soy cheese to make it melt.  It's allowed by US
law to be called dairy free because the percentage of dairy in it is so
low, but it is NOT dairy, is NOT vegan.

Hope that helps.
Sandra Mort

On Fri, 17 Apr 1998, Kate Bilinski wrote:

> A little clarification.  Organic Valley makes casien free (vegetable
> rennet) cheese that is available in the US.  It's not vegan because it's
> made with animal milk, but it truly is vegetarian.  
> Kate
> mort@xxxxxxx wrote:
> > 
> > Hi!  Hate to break the news to you, but unless it's caein free, it's not
> > vegan.  And if it's available in the US, it's not casein free.  In the US,
> > there are two brands of casein free cheeseL Soymage and VeganRella.
> > VeganRella sort of melts, but is flavored with herbs and other things that
> > are gooey, sort of, when melted, but taste nothing like cheese.  Soymage
> > is SUPPOSED to taste like cheese, and I do have to admit that the
> > pseudo-parmesan isn't TOO bad, but the hard cheese reminded me of a
> > fluorescent eraser.  I hear the UK options are a bit better...
> > Sandra Mort
> > 
> > On Thu, 16 Apr 1998, Neil C. Andrews, MD wrote:
> > 
> > > To Gloriamarie: Have you tried "NuTofu"? It's a FF non-dairy cheese from the
> > > HFS that comes in cheddar, jack, and mozzarella flavors. I have tried only
> > > the cheddar and like it. It melts fairly well in the microwave. (I'm vegan
> > > and also have a very limited sweet tooth.
> > >