It is my understanding that only a small percentage of refined sugar is processed with bone derived charcoal, or bone char, which serves as a bleaching agent. However, if you wish to
play it safe, I suggest buying unrefined turbinado sugar, or raw sugar. I think turbinado sugar is easily used in place of refined sugar- I baked with it this past holiday season and I
have even used it in making bread. I use it in my tea or coffee every morning and I notice no difference at all. In fact, I like the taste of turbinado a little bit more.
Neil Bernstein wrote:
> I seem to remember that regular sugar is not truly vegetarian, for a reason I cannot remember. Why is it not vegetarian and what is the kind of sugar you can buy that is vegetarian?